Almost everyone certainly said something they regretted in a chat. Because they were tired, angry, or just looking at the wrong conversation — but Facebook Messenger could soon get a feature that’ll let you take those misguided statements back. Evidence has been found that an “unsend” option is in the works.
“Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.”
- You’ll have to notice the mistake pretty quickly if you want it erased from the digital world; but nevertheless, it’s possible now. This time limit does seem surprisingly short, however, considering that the company gives WhatsApp users up to an hour to unsend that embarrassing photo.
- Facebook faced a lot of strong negative reaction back in April this year, after it confirmed that it had deleted CEO Mark Zuckerberg’s messages from (more than two, but not a lot of) receivers’ inboxes on Messenger. In (revenge for something bad that was done), the company said that it is looking to roll out an ‘Unsend Message’ feature that will allow all users to recall their sent messages. Finally, six months after the announcement, (pictures made by computers of their screens) of the ‘Unsend Message’ feature in testing have been leaked, giving us hope that the social giant hasn’t forgotten about its promise.
It‘s unclear when the company started testing the feature, and there is no word on when it will launch either. The current state of the feature is very buggy, with the button deleting the message only from the user‘s Inbox and not at the receiver‘s end. In fact, it‘s possible that the code has shipped but isn‘t being actively used as part of a test.
Facebook remained very unclear when asked about the Unsend feature‘s launch timeline, but confirmed its (the act of reaching a destination) sometime in the future. “Though we have nothing to announce today, we have confirmed that we intend to ship a feature like this and are still planning to do so,” a company spokesperson told TechCrunch.
Other Apps with This Option:
Other Facebook services like WhatsApp and Instagram also allow users to delete sent messages. WhatsApp offers users with the ability to delete messages for a limited amount of time after the message has been sent. On the other hand, Instagram offers users with the ability to complete unsend a Direct Message provided the recipient has not seen the message.
Version Requirement And Launching Date:
The option was first announced in April, followed by testing later in October. When the 191.0 version of Messenger is released, another option will appear for 10 minutes above “Delete Message” when editing messages in a conversation: “Unsend Message.” If you miss that deadline, though, you’re out of luck. So make your decision fast, before it get too late.